Posted by: Memo | March 27, 2007

Yikes! Password Crackers!

PasswordUseful bit of info via Lifehacker: “How I’d Hack Your Weak Passwords” You gotta think seriously about the kinds of passwords you use for the many many web services you are connected to. Like the man says,

“Hackers, and I’m not talking about the ethical kind, have developed a whole range of tools to get at your personal data. And the main impediment standing between your information remaining safe, or leaking out, is the password you choose. (Ironically, the best protection people have is usually the one they take least seriously.)

Scary, but oh so true! I suppose you could use the recently dethroned Hawaiian fish to make a really tough password. It would take approximately 154,640,721,434 millennia (I’d add a 2 for good measure) to hack that one. I think I just found me the perfect password!

Or, you can try out a service like SafePasswd to generate one. Just remember to add a 2.

Responses

  1. Hey Memo, nice blog. Short, easy to read, and thought provoking.
    I followed the link to the password generated site and wonder how in the heck I would remember the passwords! I know, I know, I could use a password account. In fact, Michael S. has suggested it several times. He also offered this easy solution–use an exclamation point or some other symbol at the end of your password to subvert those hackers!

    The only thing I could wish for on this site is a spell checker for comments!

  2. Thanks, Anne! You know, Firefox 2.0 does have an automatic spell checker built in. Internet Explorer 7 also has an add-on called ieSpell just for those pesky misspells. Either way, I’m glad you wrote me a comment!


Leave a Reply

Categories

