Posted by: Memo | April 17, 2007

Immigrant Me

I gave an introduction talk at the 12th biannual conference on language at my university. About 40+ international students and faculty attended the session, and I talked about my “typical” immigrant experience: the uprooting of everything I cherished and ever known about (I was 15) and moving to another country to escape the violence my country was experiencing at the time.

The positive of such a move? Safety, at first. Once we settled in our new home we started the process of learning a language, acclimatizing to the weather, fitting in a new society, and making our new life work. So far it’s been great, and hope these international students thrive in this new society. After all, they’ve come a long way to be here.

Leave a Reply

Categories

